The Auction Quilts 2022

Wow, I haven’t blogged in months and months! I had to take a sewing break for a while due to trigger finger surgery but I’ve been back to it for a while now.

The last two years we have not been able to attend Shults Lewis Child & Family Services Annual Day due to the pandemic. So this was a special time since this year, we got to go!

I made two lap sized quilts that were very different from each other. The first is the Flapjacks pattern available for free at Fat Quarter Shop. I used Bee themed fabrics designed by Deb Strain, that I’ve hoarded for several years. This went together well and I just love this fabric line!

“A Bee’s Life”

The super-de-dooper part of this is, my dear friend’s husband bid on it and got it for her! I was thrilled! She deserves it! She works very hard to enrich lives at the children’s home, like everyone there does. Lissa just has a special place in my heart!

The second quilt is a free Churn Dash pattern I got at Jordan Fabrics. Donna Jordan comes up with fabulous patterns using precuts and I always enjoy making them. I used a fabric line called Sakura Blossom that I bought a long time ago. It turned out just beautifully. I changed the border a bit, since I had plenty of pieces leftover.

“Sakura Blossom”

I’m not sure who got this one, but hopefully it’ll be well used. I know these pictures aren’t the best, but I didn’t remember to get some taken before we arrived.

It was a long, full, busy, blessed day. Seeing friends, raising money for a great place that does such good work, encouraging others….these are the days that enrich us.

I hope you also have some enriching days, friends.

LL

Leave a comment