Oh, How I Love Pink

Recently I gifted this quilt to a sweet friend. In some ways, it was one of those that is hard to give up. The simple pattern makes the fabrics truly become the stars of this quilt. I love it. But I know that my friend loves it too.

Pink & White & Red all over.

A while back I purchased a jelly roll that was pink, white and red. More recently my MIL purchased one with floral designs in the same colors. Since there were duplicates, and the designer of both JR’s was Edyta Sitar of Laundry Basket Quilts, we traded some!There were a few strips we traded back, but I think the whole deal worked out beautifully.

Swirl hook quilting.

I quilted this one on with the swirl hook design. It’s one that is pretty and simple to do. I also used Aurifil thread on this quilt, first time ever! Oh my goodness, it’s really worth it. So much fits on the bobbin and I hardly made a dent in the spool. So I am in the process of “out with the old, in with the new” thread. It’ll take a while, but that’s okay.

Backing….

I used a pretty pink flower print for the back, and I think for the binding too. I can’t sew the binding on by hand any more, so it is machine done. Even though it doesn’t look perfectly perfect, it’s going to stay on!

The bow.

This was delivered on a cold, snowy day to my sweet friend. She was so surprised and even speechless. Just that reaction, with her hand on her heart, smiling and saying, “oh, oh, oh my.”

This is why I gift quilts.

Have a good day, friends.

LL

Leave a comment