“C’mon, Get Happy”

Another dear friend is a new grandma, so I made her a quilt. I like to do this so when the grandchild comes over, she’s got a quilt that is ready for cuddles with baby. And this is exactly how she put it today when I handed it to her.

A grandma quilt for Jackie.

When I started this quilt I wanted to use a pattern that would keep the personality of the fabrics front and center. I’ve used this pattern many times for baby and grandma quilts over the years. It’s fun, fast and so easy.

An oldie but a goodie.

Some of the fabrics didn’t work well for small pieces, but I ignored that and used them anyway. I had a fat quarter bundle with 12 pieces. The solid fabrics in the bundle weren’t my favorite but it’s good they were there. I think the solids calmed it down a bit.

Circles.

I quilted this with circles. Maybe I should say “round shapes” because that’s more accurate. With all the straight lines and angles, I thought something curvy would be fun.

One of the main things that drew me to this line of fabric is the nostalgia it brings to mind. Back in the day a favorite TV show had a special bus. Maybe this will ring a bell.

Best musical show ever!

I know, right? It only seemed right to use this for my friend.

For the back I had to add a strip to get it square. The quilt is around 45” square so the width of fabric just wouldn’t work. The strip added the few inches I needed.

Super strip made from leftovers!

I used the large stripe for the binding. It was very irregular so I didn’t use it IN the quilt. I love the blue backing, it really worked out well.

The label.

I knew I wanted to use a Partridge Family song title to name the quilt. My sister and I discussed it one afternoon and had fun listing all the songs. There were more albums than you’d think. And I’m pretty sure mine are still at my mom and dad’s.

So instead of naming it something about “Albuquerque” I went with my sister’s first suggestion, “C’mon Get Happy.” Hopefully Jackie will get it.

I think she will.

Have a great week, friends!

LL

Leave a comment