“Let them hear you Roar”

“Dinosaurs” by Elizabeth Hartman almost didn’t happen. This pattern was overwhelming from the get-go and I must have read through it three times before cutting any fabric. But once I thought I had it figured out, the “fun” began!

Dinosaur Quilt

I absolutely LOVED making this quilt. Every little bit completed was a surprise and gave me a little thrill!

The little plants

These are a set of some of the plants. I started with them, just to get the hang of it. I used a directional text fabric for the background and this is where I decided which way it should go. It didn’t go that way every time, but whenever I had control, I’d make sure it was as I planned it.

Plant #2.

The plants actually have specific names, but I don’t remember them. Here are the third ones, probably my favorites.

Plant #3

When it was finally time to start on the dinosaurs I was pretty nervous. The “longneck” had 38 pieces for just one of him! But the pattern is excellently written and truly is basic piecing. They were all so fun to make, I’ll be making a larger size for my nephew this Christmas.

Here’s a pic of the first bit that just made me giddy.

T-Rex heads!

Are those so stinking adorable?! I loved working with the Moda Grunge fabrics, they have so much character.

T-Rex tiny arms!

There are so many jokes about the short arms on the tyrannosaurus, but these are so cute!

Choosing the fabrics for this quilt was lots of fun. The baby mama chose pink, purple and indigo for the baby’s room. I do not have much in purple in my stash so I picked up a couple of fat quarters at my LQS. I also picked out a bright green for the plants, but that’s not how the pattern is written. So into the stash it goes!

Rawr!

I quilted a loopy hearts design, keeping it loose so it’d be drapey and cuddly.

The horn things are a little hard to see, but they’re there!

I used a light purple backing that has the nicest feel to it!

The label for Zephi
They’re buds.

The gift was given at the baby shower today, via Zoom. Don’t you love technology? I couldn’t physically be at the shower but I was there too! Amazing times, we live in.

I believe, based on her reaction, the mama to be loved the quilt. I’ve known her since she was 4 years old and I’m so thrilled for her and all of her family.

Have a great day, friends. And don’t be afraid of Elizabeth Hartman’s patterns. As complicated as you think they are, they’re so well written, you can do it!

LL

Leave a comment