How to FMQ Like a NINJA

Friends, in the past few days I have quilted two new (to me) designs, and they don’t look half bad. Here’s a pic of the first one I tried last Sunday afternoon.


After watching Angela Walters Paisley Feathers tutorial about a zillion times, I felt like I had the idea of what to do and how. So I grabbed this from my closet, layered and basted and jumped in! Now, some of the stitches are pretty long, but practice will deal with that in time. The shape is mostly right and it looks pretty good. I was pretty pleased with myself.


Yes, big stitches….

When I finished I noticed the lovely texture and admired what I had done. I wished I had used a less busy fabric on the back, so the design would really show. But I’ve always been of the mindset that using a busy backing disguises errors. This time it did that but it also disguised the good stuff. Oh well.


Seriously, what fun!

So today I decided to try Flower Meander also seen in a tutorial by Angela Walters. It was loads of fun and giggling was happening because it was working! 


Again, the stitches are long but that may change in time. And my flowers are larger, but they still are doing much the same thing. This time the lucky recipient is a baby sized quilt I made earlier this summer. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this quilting design. Wait til you see the back!


Yes, big long stitches, I know! But lookit! Even the daughter thought it was cool. I think I’ve found my new “in a pinch” design!

Now, to quilt like a ninja, I think these are the keys to success:

  • No fear! Just do it. If you have something small to start on, use it. If not, grab a fat quarter and get it ready and Go. To. Town!
  • Read books! Watch tutorials! Figure out the best way for YOU to learn a thing and make it happen! Draw!
  • Don’t worry about messing up! Everyone messes up when something is new. Give yourself a break!
  • Have the right tools! Machingers gloves help a lot. I mean A LOT! Know your sewing machine well. (Tension, thread preferences, open toe foot, feed dogs down, etc)
  • Practice. “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.” All practice will be of benefit. Make placemats, or baby quilts. Start small.
  • Enjoy what you’re doing. It really is a lot of fun.


Give it a try, friends. You won’t regret it!

LL

Leave a Reply

