“Bee Inspired” Every Day

Wow, it has been a LONG time since I last blogged! I have been sewing some, so at least I’ve got a thing or two to share. 

I don’t really have any “in progress” pics of this quilt, which is a gift. It’s on it’s way to the birthday girl, but I’m going to share anyway.  Shortly after our trip to Shipshewana in April, the husband asked me about starting on the gift for his mom. He had picked out a jelly roll, Bee Inspired by Deb Strain for this purpose. I found a pattern that I loved! Angela Walters used this pattern on one of the Spring episodes of The Midnight Quilt Show. I knew it’d be a good fit! It’s called On Point.


I was determined NOT to have to buy a background fabric, using what I had on hand. The pattern said 3 1/2 yards, I think, which limits my selection at home. Especially finding something to go with these colors! Weirdly enough I did have over four yards of the background, so that was destined for this quilt, I think. Husband approved too.

It was a wonderfully slow process, making this quilt. Lots of putting fabrics together, sewing long strips and not too difficult cutting. Each block reminded me of flying geese blocks, so the layout was fun, as I’ve never made a FG quilt before. I know! I’m going to have to change that one of these days.

Here are a few close ups of the quilting. I tried to make little arches and then echo them. They are not perfect but I enjoyed the process. I also used an entire spool just for the quilting! Plus part of another to finish it up.


Some of those stitches are really huge, aren’t they? Let’s say my camera is really, really close!


The texture is pretty neat. We chose a less busy backing, but I think it’s a good choice. Not too dark, not super light. Just right. 

I had some block halves left so I used one for the label. Being less original in naming the quilt this time, I went with the name of the line of fabric. It’s actually very appropriate for my MIL. I think she’ll like this quilt a lot. She loves butterflies! I think the bees are the stars of this line, so it’s a good mix.

This is something else I’ve been fiddling around with. I haven’t put a border on it yet, but I will at some point. I love the color!


For now, that’s about all I’ve got to share. We’ve got a few events coming up that will require some sewing. A baby girl will be joining our family (my brother and his sweet wife), finishing a wedding quilt, two more baby girls and a couple auction quilts. Yes, I’ve got a few things to do!


Bee 🐝 inspired! Quilt something fun this weekend!

LL

Leave a Reply

