Why it’s absolutely okay to have a zillion projects going at once!

I believe this with my whole entire heart! I have good reasons too. When one has multiple projects going, one has options. My husband will tell you, I like options to choose from. When we go on a trip, I overpack so I have a choice about what I wear. It could be rainy and cold (thus jeans and a hoodie, maybe even a raincoat), it could be sunny and warm (Capri pants and a loose tshirt). 

The same is true of fabric shopping. There are SO many decisions to be made! One yard or two? Fat quarters or half a yard? The pink or the rose? (Yeah, that last one is easy….BOTH!) Obvisouly these are the fun ones. 

Working on more than one project at a time is not just for the easily distracted. This allows various projects in different stages of development being available at all times. Then one can choose exactly what one feels like working on. This is my favorite. If I feel like chain piecing, I start something new. If I feel like getting rows together, I find the blocks I pieced last time. If I want to add borders, I slap them on. If I have something small to quilt, I can quickly baste it and go to town. You get the idea. Usually after I have quilted an item, I want it done, so much of the time I will take care of that business too.

Options equal freedom, to me. Freedom to choose a project and finish it right away, or not. Freedom to let a project sit and wait, and not feel stressed about it…..oh, that’s priceless. I’ve presently got 15+ completed quilt tops in my closet. No guilt, no pressure, no worries. Hakuna Matata. I’ll get to them sometime. Works in progress are not bad words, people! 

And to prove it, I’ve got stuff to share. Various works in progress.

But first, some pics from our impromptu trip to Shipshewana! I love it there!

Two of my all time favorite places to go! 

While in the Davis Mercantile we went to Lolly’s to check out all the fabrics. FYI – they moved the FQ boat upstairs! Normally I choose, oh, about a zillion FQ’s. This time the husband cut me off at a dozen. I know! Then he started picking a few, throwing them into MY basket! So I may or may not have grabbed a few extra. The daughter was a bit of a snitch this trip. She’s gone over to the dark side. Oh well.

So here’s a nice big pic of the haul.


The FQ’s on the top of the pile are the husband’s picks. 😜 You may recall he loves Oriental fabrics, so we’ve got a few pieces of that going on too.  The next pic are a couple things for specific projects. Can’t say who they’re for at this moment, but obviously they will be Awesome.

I’ve not really worked much with solid fabrics, especially rainbow solids! I’m looking forward to that. The batik has such rich, bright colors, that’s going to be a lot of fun. Husband found both of these items.

The Bee Inspired fabric was chosen by the husband too. He’s got good taste when I can get him looking at non-Asian stuff. So this will be very fun to work with too. Bees, butterflies and limited color palette. Fun!

Here are a few other pics of what came home with us.


Okay, that “Old Guys Rule” fabric is so hilarious but we almost didn’t get it. It has a $@&;)! word on there! I’m going to work around that, but ooooooooh, I’m telling! My husband also chose the pink and brown border fabric, saying “Can you use this?” Isn’t that cute? Of course I can use that! I love the little Moda tins, I even moved my Alphabitties into the smaller one already!

Finally, some around town pics from the trip.

This gorgeous Bargello quilt is hanging in the Van Buren Hotel, which is where we always stay. It’s clean and the people are so friendly. 

We were behind this buggy for a bit. They drive on the shoulder of the road. I love seeing them and hearing the clip clip of the horses. Even if it’s raining, like it was when we left on Sunday morning.

The big bunch of buttons are in a chest in a store in the Davis Mercantile. I think everyone that goes in reaches in and moves them around. It’s just fun. 

Also in the Davis Mercantile, on the top floor, next to the candy store, was this beautiful quilt. I love the blues with the white/cream. The difference in the blue is so very subtle. The quilting was also just lovely. It was too high to get a decent close up pic. Sorry.

Finally, the plethora of projects on my counter right now!


I made these things for my MIL. The colors had her name written all over them! I got these fabrics in a Moda Scrap Bag on Amazon. (As of yesterday, they had them for $12!!!) Anyway, I made a big weird bowl type of thing (apparently I have zero skill n holding the thing up to make a basket), a small hot pad and a few coasters. Practice makes perfect, and I still have some practicing to do!

I started making pineapple blocks right before our trip. I used leftover charm pieces at first. My first block was yellow, because that’s the “usual” color your brain goes to when we say “pineapple,” right?


It’s pretty cute. Since I had a few other colors available in the same line  of fabric, I made a few more. 


I know! Then I decided to go ahead and try it with the warm colors….


Yuck! Not crazy about the blues! At some point I made one in gray, and it’s one of my faves. Pretty weird.


I think it was right around this point in the process that I needed more colors! So I grabbed a couple more charm packs! I made these two yesterday, and I love them! 

Anyone who knows me will tell you that I am just not into purple. I know it’s a color of royalty and rich and lovely, but it has never floated my boat, so to speak. But this purple pineapple is just way cool! And the black-ish one, it’s cool too! I did use some grays in it, but I think it really works. Besides, it’s what I had. If the whole thing was dark black only, it may end up a little “flat.” So this way it’s got some flair!

Maybe some of you recognize these fabrics as Lecien. I know they’re considered high end or something like that. I got the charm packs thru Massdrop some time ago. I found them to be thin, almost too thin. They fray easily too. Maybe it was a bad batch, but unfortunately I was not super impressed.

Finally, all my ducks in a row, or two rows.


With everything together, the blues don’t look as pitiful as they did alone. I’ve still got a few piles of charms to make more pineapple blocks, so I’ll continue until I have enough for a quilt. Then I’ll put it in the closet and do it when I feel like it.

That’s the beauty of having many projects in progress. It’s never boring.

So go ahead and start something new! Even if you haven’t finished what you’re working on! There’s nothing like the thrill of finishing a project, except for the thrill of starting one. Or seeing one come together just like you planned! It’s all pretty exciting, if you ask me.

Have a great weekend people! 

LL

Leave a Reply

