Auction Items 2016

I’ve finished (except for a couple labels, gimme a break) all the quilts for the auction, with two weeks to spare! I’ve probably made too much (7 items; 2 quilts, 2 baby quilts and 3 wall hangings) but it was excellent therapy for me to sew like a mad woman the past couple weeks.

Up first is the Preppy the Whale wall hanging, pattern by Elizabeth Hartman. I wanted to use the green plaid fabric, as I have something of a theme going on here…. I like this one a lot. Using gray with this light sage green color was risky, but no one was hurt so I think it’s just fine. I quilted Preppy with wavy lines, #4 on my machine, 3.3 width. It lends itself well to water-like quilts.


Hazel Hedgehog pattern also by Elizabeth Hartman. I love this! I love the striped fabric. It also has little dots here and there. I quilted this one with a wavy diamond pattern. That sounds really fancy, but it was actually a mistake. I started quilting what I thought would be “organic” lines, but the machine was still set on wavy lines. So instead of unsewing, I finished up the horizontal lines and went diagonally across too. It’s an interesting look, but not my first choice. But someone somewhere isn’t going to care.


Next up is Fancy Fox II in blue. (Yes, Elizabeth Hartman.) What wonderfully fun patterns, right! I used the blue plaid AS the fox here, and I love it. The ABC border is restful and just right with this little guy. This one is quilted with organic lines about an inch apart at some spots. It just varies, ok?


Next up is the first baby quilt I made, using Oink a Doodle Moo by Moda. The pattern for this one is Jelly Roll Jam II, available free at the Fat Quarter Shop. I quilted this one with a free motion box pattern that I kind of made up as I went along. It’s not very exact, but it holds the layers together!


Jelly Roll Jam, also from FQS and using Oink a Doodle Moo was made using 18 of the 22 strips leftover. Kinda neat to get two quilts from one jelly roll. I quilted this one with lines that were supposed to be kind of like hay….but ended up looking sort of like fire flames. Again, it holds the layers together. I love the cow spot fabric in this one.


Finally, the last two quilts. The first is the very, very triangle-y quilt, using the Apricot Compote pattern by Riley Blake. I think I quilted this with swirly twirls and loops.


And finally again, 999 squares later, a minion quilt. I saw this first on a blog….Don’t call me Betsy. I wrote an email to the maker and asked her if she minded if I just copy her idea….she didn’t mind at all! What a nice lady! So I skipped the border and used a dark binding, with flip flops on it no less, and ended up with this guy! It was a blast to make and I can’t wait to see who goes home with it!


So, that’s what I’ve been doing this past month+. Sometimes sewing is therapy, and it has definitely been a gift to me lately.

Have a great week, friends.

LL

Leave a Reply

