Let the Quilting Begin!

I pretty much had to force myself to baste this quilt. I kept putting it off! I figured it wasn’t getting any smaller so I may as well just do it. 


I still love the fabrics and the pattern. I hope someone else does too, so the quilt brings in big money at the auction for the children’s home. And I mean BIG MONEY, friends. 😉

I’m not sure how I’m going to quilt it yet. It’s going to be a challenge getting all that maneuvered around on my sewing space. I’d like to do a nice grid but I think honestly I would get bored with it partway through and I’m pretty sure the straight lines would get all wiggly at some point. 


I may try to do the swirly twirls and loops and curly things. I don’t think the organic lines will enhance this quilt, otherwise I’d do that. I’m hoping to work on it tomorrow. 

After crawling around on the floor, pinning and scooting and trying to keep my foot from falling asleep, I’m done for today.


This quilt is waiting for me and probably won’t go anywhere while I chill.

I used this lovely pink with gold arrow fabric for the back. The arrows are vertical on the back, which is what I wanted. Yay. I’m thinking about using this black with arrows for the binding, but I need to see how it looks first. I’ll do that by cutting a strip and folding it in half, just like a binding strip. If it doesn’t work out, I can use the pink.


This project has actually gone together faster than I thought it would. In the past I have waited until the last minute to start on “auction quilts.” It kind of forces me to do it in a timely fashion.

It’s nice to have a little extra time…..

LL

2 thoughts on “Let the Quilting Begin!

    1. Hi Lyn, the pins are covered with plastic snap on “thingys.” I think they are made by the same company as the Kwik Clip. That would be the tool used to close the pins. I picked mine up at Joann Fabrics with a coupon. I think there were 150-200(?) in the package, for about $15, thus the coupon! They clip on the curved pins pretty easily, I let my husband do it! They just make the basting easier, since holding a tiny curved pin with plastic on it is easier than a a naked one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

