One Finish + 2 Cutie Blocks = Time Well Spent

Yesterday I quilted another of my MIL’s small projects. It’s pretty fun that she gives me free reign to just do what I feel like doing. I started with swirls, but after doing a few, something else seemed to be more…..right.

  
So the design ended up to be swirly flames. Is that a thing? She was really happy with it, and I had fun, so it’s good.

  
MIL used a charm pack and some pieces of navy Kona cotton. She plans to use this as a picnic table runner/cloth in the summer time. 

Small projects like this are fun to do. Much of the time I want to do simple, no brainer sewing and charm packs fill the bill. One can never have too many table runners. And if one does, one can always give them as gifts. Especially to one’s mom. 

It’s a great place to practice free motion quilting. It’s fun to try new designs on a smaller project because there is only a small commitment of exactly how much will have to be done. Like those pebbles…. I’m had no idea those would take SO long and be SO challenging! Haven’t done those again since the first time I tried it!

Today we decided to start something new. The MIL and I went through Lori Holt’s Vintage Farm Girl patterns and chose nine to use to make a wall hanging for our kitchens. She will be heading back home in two weeks, so we are on something of a schedule. We also have challenged ourselves to use scraps. After so much sewing the last couple months, we’ve got a lotta scraps.

Here is my Spool block.

   
 
Love the little doggie in the spool window. 🙂

Next we made Strawberry blocks! 

  
Pretty in pink! Those pieces finish at one inch…..

I’ve cut out the pieces for the Cherry blocks, so maybe we’ll get to those tomorrow.

The design boards I made are pretty handy. Less slippery than the counter top, and easy to move things about. Who knew!?

Happy weekend, people!

LL

Leave a Reply

