Magazines by the #Pound

Are almost outta here!!

My sewing machine was overdue for a tune up so daughter and I dropped it off at the shop last Wednesday. Not being one to stray too far from my sewing room, I decided to tackle about 17 years worth of quilting magazines. (That is the ONLY football reference you will hear from me today.)

Here is what will be leaving soon.

  
There are actually more than this, but you get the idea. The oldest magazine I found is from 1998. It’s got a pattern my MIL wants, so it’s going home with her next month. The rest of them are mostly anything Better Homes & Gardens put out; American Patchwork & Quilting, Quilt Sampler, Quilts & More, Holiday Crafts….yes, these were my favorites.

Next would be Quilter’s Newsletter Magazine and Quiltmaker. Some McCall’s Quilting magazines, including Quick Quilts and Baby Quilt issues. Finally, Fons and Porter’s For the Love of Quilting. A few “other” ones sprinkled in here and there.

These will be taken to Goodwill or recycled. Unless someone out there wants a specific issue, then I will be happy to send it your way.

Seriously, almost 20 years of these magazines.

But, I’ll be honest. I went through them ALL and tore out all the patterns I still love and might make one day. I’ve got two large binders full of handpicked quilt patterns that I haven’t tried yet.

   
   
Love them! I also have these. I don’t know if there are more than seven of them, but aren’t they awesome! I haven’t made any of them yet, but I’m hoping to soon.

   
    
 
Soooooo cute! See the star pattern next to the monkey one? I have made that quilt about 4 different times for babies. It looks great in any fabric style!

I’m pretty excited about the new space that is cleared up (at least temporarily) and about trying something old/new soon. 

The last couple of days while I went through all the magazines, MIL worked on a huge project! I think she started this two years ago when she came to visit. Anyway, after much trial and error, we got it together. Again, I HATE SASHING.

  

It’s the Zipper pattern from a Missouri Star Quilt Co. tutorial. I think she used several charm packs that just worked together. We’re pretty happy with it. Looks great, huh?

Here is a pic of a baby quilt that I’m planning to finish up one day soon. It’s been a top for some time and really wants a baby home.

  
Oh, here is something else I found today.

   
 
Was anyone else in this group? I don’t know if it’s still in existence or not. It was fun while it lasted….

I also found all of these “Taking the Math Out” lessons in the QN magazines. There are 13 of them!

  
And I am ALL OVER taking the math out!

Finally, I keep thinking I shared this before but I looked and I didn’t. I think.

  
Husband brought this home a few weeks ago and I asked for one and he gave me his.

What a nice man.

So I will be picking up the machine tomorrow, and resuming my sewing on the Granny Squares.

  
I love them. Yay.

I hope everyone has a good week. And seriously, if you want any of these magazines, say the word.

LL

Leave a Reply

