Blessed is the man….

Our minister of 23 years retired today. He gave his final “official” sermon, which was an encouragement to all of us. He spoke of the works our church family has been involved in and the special people he’s met over the years. It was an honor to make a quilt for him.

  
I used fabrics that came from a panel which had the Fruits of the Spirit on them. Each block has a “fruit” and is surrounded by Courthouse Steps. Over the years, Chuck has preached these Fruits to us many times, so there is meaning behind the fabrics.

The yellow centers, in no particular order…

   
   
The purple centers, INPO….

   
   
And finally the green….

   
   
Galatians 5:22-23 (ESV Strong’s Bible)
“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.”
A close up of some of the quilting. I used green, purple and gold threads. The green and purple were the main lines, creating an “organic grid” of almost diamonds. I decided I wanted the quilting to be a little bit tighter than it was, so I added double gold lines too. I really love the double lines, I think it looks way cool.

   

I used camera fabric for the backing. Anyone who knows Chuck, knows he’s always got that camera handy! It was so very perfect for this labor of love.

   
   

We always name our quilts with something meaningful so the perfect name for this one was thought of by myself AND my husband. Since we agreed, I used portions of the bible verse that reminded us both of Chuck. It’s one he quoted ALL THE TIME, so I know it means a lot to him too.

The presentation of the quilt at our fellowship potluck today was nice. The husband told about the process of choosing this fabric and how dear Chuck is to us.  It was my pleasure to make this for him.

Hope you’re having a great Sunday, friends.

LL

Leave a Reply

