A Finish & Two Mini Tutorials (how’s THAT for a Tuesday!)

The Super Hero quilt is finished! I even got the label on it! BOOYA!

  

See my “organic lines?” There are 87 of them. Alllllll the wayyyyyyy acrossssss the entire top. I thought I had only a few to do today, before binding the monstrosity, but it was more like ten. I’m not sure what might have been easier for this huge quilt, but I like the look of these lines.

Over 300 inches of binding, this is how I started today. Luckily I had three strips the length of the quilt, so I only needed to add two more “regular” WOF strips.

  
And off we go!

  
Sure, I could have cleared the area a bit more, but I didn’t. I hardly ever do that unless my MIL is in town sewing too.

I thought I’d show how I do the corners when sewing the binding on. First, because I do not hand sew anymore (except for the label) I sew the binding onto the back of the quilt. Second, I start the binding near the halfway point on the bottom of the quilt. Usually about 8-10 inches away from the center, or the seam. Third, I use the needle down option throughout the entire finishing of every quilt.

I stop about 2 1/2 inches before I get to the corner.

  
With a pin, I find the quarter inch mark at the corner.

  
I move the pin onto the binding at that quarter inch spot. I don’t go thru all the layers, I just have it marking the spot.

Then I sew TO that spot and stop. With the needle down.

  
At this point I check to make sure I’m in the right place by looking under the binding.

  
I want to make certain I am. Then I pivot so I can sew right to the corner and off the quilt.

  
This is how it will look. Next I flip the binding so the  angle is obvious.

  
The binding strip will be “level” with the next edge. After this the binding needs to be folded over. There will be what seems like bulk right at the corner. This is what will make the mitered corner on the front.

  
I pin this occasionally, if needed. I turn it so the fold will be the first thing under the needle.

  
Continue sewing a quarter inch from the edge, starting right at the top. There is no need to fiddle with starting at the quarter inch mark because it’s already been established.

  
And this is what it’s supposed to look like. Easy peasy. But I’ll be honest, I didn’t always do it this way. I used to pin the entire binding on, and get real fiddly with the corners. At some point I discovered all that just wasn’t necessary for me. Maybe that’d be when I started rebelling and breaking the “quilt rules.” 

And here is how I do the corners on the front of the quilt. Again, I stop a couple inches away.

  
I fold the binding up.

   
And I hold it in place with my stiletto.

 
It’s at this folding point that I make sure my miter is perfect. It’s pretty easy to manipulate. Then I just sew.

  
Turn the corner, continue on.

The second mini tutorial I wanted to share is something that when I learned it, it absolutely changed everything! I learned this from my dear quilter friend, Frances. I must have done it wrong the first few times but eventually, it kicked in.

Connecting the binding ends. Maybe you’re already great at this, I hope so! I was not. For YEARS. And now I love this “new, improved” binding trick.

So, leave about 20 inches of space to work with when attaching the binding to the quilt. Leave 10-15 inches of binding just loose, at the beginning and the end. It seems like a lot, but trust me, it’s way easier to do this with extra than struggling with just a wee bit. Decide on a spot where the ends will meet up. Lay the binding strip from your left on the edge of the quilt. Trim it if necessary. 

Since the strip is 2.5″ wide, this is how far the overlap of the other strip (from the right) needs to be. The way Frances taught me is this: cut a bit of the strip, and lay it ON the left binding strip.

  
Next, lay the right binding strip directly on top of the “bit of a strip.”

   
 
See the edge of the bit of fabric? It is right next to the word “super.” That is where we cut. And get rid of the leftovers and the “bit.”

Here is the part that confused me. 

 
The ends need to be sewn together, but we want a diagonal seam. To do this we have to put them together diagonally. I always pin so I don’t have to worry about slippage.

  
The stitch line will be parallel with the stiletto.

  
See that orange pin to the left of my hand? It has been helpful to me to pin the quilt together like that. This way the natural pull of the quilt won’t create “drag” when I’m stitching the ends together.

   
 
I always use a starter, so the machine doesn’t eat my corners. And I always check to make sure I’ve done it right. (I believe I’ve sewn this together twisted in the past.)

   
 
And I have, so I trim. Finger pressing the seam open is pretty easy, then sewing the rest of the binding on is like a present you give yourself.

   
 
Hallelujah! And I really mean it.

The label is ON, the quilt is on the couch and I am just glad it’s finished.

   
   
Seriously, I think I need a nap.

LL

Leave a Reply

