My Mess & Snapshots #5

Here is the mess that welcomed me the other day. I love my sewing room, but sometimes I run out of space for things….. Apparently those long strips slipped off the chair and fell when I walked out the other day. And the stuff hanging off the chair? Yeah, that’s what I trimmed off the baby quilt (which I will post about tomorrow). Well, I’m not going to explain the rest of my mess to you, I know you know how it is. 

  
Snapshots block #5 was released early this month, and I started cutting out my Snapshots #5 block a couple days ago and but finally found some time to sew today!

  
I wasn’t really sure about using the house fabrics, mostly because they’re directional, but I’m glad I did. I really like the brightness of the yellow and the cute little trees…. See my Alphabitties? I love them. 

The first bit of sewing is the top part of the apron. I think the overlap of the blue squares really makes the apron take shape. So “fifties”, know what I mean?

  
And there are my sideways houses. Nope, doesn’t bother me.

  
Twelve squares with lines, ready to be cute too. I love this pink background fabric. I just didn’t have enough white fabric. I am trying very hard to use what I’ve got these days. And nobody really had to twist my arm so I’d use the pink….

  
Here are the side ruffles for the top part of the apron. So. Darn. Cute. It amazes me every month how this pattern just fits together like peanut butter & jelly. There are so many weird little things to do that I’ve never done before, and it works! Things like draw a line from 1.5 inches from the left corner of the top of piece G, and then sew it on some other rectangle. I know, that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but it’s all so new to me!

And here’s the top. Kinda looks like a bra with ruffley straps.

 
I almost can’t even stand it, it’s so cute.

 

The bottom part of the apron was pretty straightforward. I love the pink fabric. I almost made the whole apron pink, but I really wanted to use blue for the larger area. Those lined squares at the top give the whole thing it’s shapely shape. Like somebody’s wearing a corset!

  
And the ruffles! 

  
Oh. My. Goodness! Cutest thing ever!

  
All we need is a strand of pearls and some high heels while making a pot roast! I seriously think this is just so freaking adorable.

  
And here she is with her four buds. I need to take them down and put them somewhere else. 

Maybe.

But first I’m going to look at them some more.

LL  

Leave a Reply

