WIP Wednesday

So two years ago my favorite quilter, Frances asked me if I’d like to be in a Farmer’s Wife block swap. She had loads of Thimbleberries fabrics that she was willing to share with myself and 5 other ladies. These ladies are friends of hers who live in Kansas. I thought this would be a good thing to do.

I’d only have to make 13 different blocks, but seven of each one. We had the list and it was split up and we began, two years ago in April.

Yeah.

I had a blast receiving all these awesome blocks! Some weren’t favorites, but some really were! Needless to say, a few of us fell behind. So I bought this!

IMG_0504

It really helped! I was able to print out the paper piecing sheets and I was back in business! For a while.

And like a complete goof, I saved all the hard blocks for the last. Yes, I really did. And by “hard” I mean, more than 20 separate pieces of fabric.

So today, I figured I’d do something I “should” do instead of something fun.
(Requiring oneself to do things takes all the fun out of it sometimes!)

IMG_0488

So I prepped my parts for the Old Windmill block, #62 in the book.

IMG_0490

Sewing the pieces onto the paper went very well. Paper piecing is quite rewarding because it’s so accurate. Finally I trimmed off the bits past the quarter inch.

IMG_0492

Not too much left over, but it’s best to trim at this point. Then when it’s time to sew the sections together, the papers and the lines on the papers can be used for accuracy.

IMG_0493

Booya! If you look closely, you will see my mistake. But I figure if I do them all the same, it’s not a big deal.

The main tools I use for paper piecing are these. Along with an iron and sewing machine. Duh.

IMG_0496

I made a second block after I finished the first because I was on a roll. Or so I thought.

So here’s a something that I forgot in my first tool pic.

IMG_0503

The un-sewer.

We all are close personal friends with this guy, huh? I mostly hate him, but he’s saved my hiney a couple times.

Finally, here’s a pic of the blocks I have so far from this nice group of ladies!

IMG_0495

This will be a work-in-progress for a while longer.

Tomorrow, maybe I’ll do another before I “do something fun.”

😜

Leave a Reply

