To Pink or Not to Pink?

So I had a dilemma. I purchased this charm pack from Missouri Star Quilt Company during one of their daily deals. (I used to wait up until midnight to see what the deal would be AS SOON AS IT HAPPENED, but now I find I just can’t do that anymore. I can wait until the morning time….)

Anyway, I had a look at the fabrics IN the charm pack before I bought it, so I figured I’d have no problem coming up with what to do with it.

Oh, was I wrong.

I don’t have pictures of the first layout of these squares. But it was just not coming together for me.

So I cut them a bit and then had my “new” old stand by, tumbler shapes!

IMG_0480

That helped a little. That interesting green just did me in every time. And here’s a funny, that is the color I wore in my aunt’s wedding almost 50 years ago when I was her flower girl. (It was the 60’s, okay?)

Then I did this, adding in some white….

IMG_0481

I really felt like that worked. But the layout still seemed kind of blah.

So I tried this.

IMG_0482

Now we’re talkin’! For some reason this appealed to me much more.

Sewing the rows together was easy peasy.

IMG_0484

I mean, it went fast.

So fast that I made two!

Normally I am all over the color pink. It’s my favorite and I’d put it in every single thing I make!

BUT….

For some weird, freak reason, I thought, what if I don’t use the pink? (If you knew me, you’d realize how totally outside of my box this really is.)

So I took it out and replaced it with THAT WEIRD GREEN!

IMG_0486

And I like it.

I actually like it a lot.

So here they are, the two small gonna-be table runners.

IMG_0487

I know which one I like more.
I hate to say the one without the pink.
(But I do. You know, like it more.)

When my sister and I were kids, we’d have our favorite colors. We both really liked pink, but she took it a step further.

My sister liked all the colors so none of them would feel bad.

I think she had the right idea.
She’s always been a clever one.

LL

Leave a Reply

