Funky Table Runner

IMG_0467

Oh, I love a quick project.

I made this quick table runner for my sister in law for her birthday. It was a charm pack called Catalina that is GORGEOUS! The colors are bright and beautiful, just like our Karin.

I used my tumbler template to change these into cute little “thimble” shaped pieces and sewed them together as “randomly” as I could manage. (Which as I’ve said before, is really, really hard for me.) Once I got them laid out, I sewed them together pretty quickly. (Yes, before I could change my mind!)

At this point, when all the pieces are together, one must decide about binding……or not binding. I wanted to leave the edges “funky” and not chop ’em off so it’d be all straight. So I left them alone.

It’s funky.

I layered the backing and the top on the batting, pinned it real well, and sewed my 1/4″ seam allowance, leaving a reinforced 5″ opening for turning. Once it was pressed, with the corners poked out with my chopstick and then adjusted with my stiletto, I stitched all around the edges. After that I stitched 1/4″ (or so) away from the seams.

ALL of the seams.

Thank goodness this was a small project. It took a tad longer than I thought it should, but it looks nice.

When Karin opened her gift, she oooed and ahhhed. Then my nephew grabbed it (he’s 13 1/2 months) and put it on the floor and laid on it.

We all laughed, because the child has a quilt or two, and knows just what they’re for. Laying on.

I love it when a plan comes together.

LL

Leave a Reply

