The “Big Heart Quilt”

2015/01/img_0400.jpg

When my daughter was small, she requested a “Big All Pink Heart Quilt” for her bed. I had just started quilting and did the best I could. This is not that quilt. (I’ll post a picture of that one another day.)

Through the years I made her several quilts, and I believe she enjoyed them all. An “I Spy” quilt, one with puppies, one with crazy pieced heartz. So when she graduated from high school a few years ago, I offered to make her whatever she wanted. By this time I had about 12 years of quilt making experience and could probably handle whatever she’d choose.

We had recently attended a quilt show together and she found a pattern she liked. (I say we went to the quilt show together when in reality, I tricked her into going with me.) Anyhoo, she chose the Bargello style. (That’ll teach me, huh?) I had books at home to guide me, we just had to choose an actual pattern. So what does she want?

A Big Heart Quilt.

She’s a stickler for tradition, isn’t she? (She seriously is! Two Christmases ago we switched the corner where we put the tree. She complained the whole season! Same thing this past year! Change is not good, according to my girl.)

So we went to a LQS and she chose the fabrics. I helped a little bit, lights, darks, etc, but this quilt was all her. The main fabric, the one with the donuts, was a favorite for both of us. She’s just a major donut lover, like her grandparents. (There is actual counting of the donuts when we’re together for breakfast. Seriously. They count and make funny, angry eyes at each other. Weirdest thing I ever saw.)

This quilt went together like a piece of cake. I enjoyed it so very much because I knew she’d love it. It was time consuming, and sometimes confusing, but aren’t most worthwhile things like that?

It’s still on her bed, which makes me feel good. I mean, the girl has options! I don’t know what she’s going to do with all her many quilts, but that’s really not my problem, is it?

If you’ve gotten this far in reading my blog (I love saying that!!) please say hello. Leave a comment too, I’d love that! As you can see, I still need to work on the thing, and I’m learning as I go, so thanks for your patience!

Have a quilty day!
Lynette L

3 thoughts on “The “Big Heart Quilt”

  1. Beautiful quilt! Do you have the name of the book that you got the pattern from? I have been looking for a long time for a heart quilt to make. Absolutely stunning!

    Like

    1. Hi Paige,
      Thanks for the compliment! I had to go look and find the book. It’s been 7 years since I made that quilt, which is still a favorite! The book is called Bargello Hearts by Nancy Podolsky. I think I got it on Amazon. Good luck and I’d love to see a pic once you finish it up!

      Like

      1. Oh my goodness you are so sweet to take the time to find the book. Thank you so much! I will definitely send you a pic when I make this quilt. I already have two in line first before I can start on this one but I’m excited about this one too. Thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

