Hello world!

So I’ve decided to start a quilt blog. I’m planning to put up some pictures soon but for now, I’m just learning how to do the whole “blog thing.” I’ve been a quilter since 1998. The first quilt was made with a group of friends and once it was finished, I vowed I’d never put myself through that mess again!

I. Was. So. Wrong.

Since then I have made many quilts for family, friends and even a few for myself. Like most quilters, I have a favorite part of the process and a dreaded, hated part that makes me want to tear out my hair. I LOVE LOVE LOVE choosing fabrics. The more the merrier! What quilter doesn’t love seeing the surprise when a stripe and a polka dot just works?! Add in a plaid and floral and we’re in business!

But, the dreaded hateful job of basting. Gosh I just hate it. Crawling around on the floor, pinning and pinning, trying not to have a foot cramp, pinning and then the phone rings! I hate basting. I used to “let” my daughter remove the tape from the floor, calling her my “tape girl” but she’s onto me, friends.

I think everyone has things they love about quilting, and things that just aren’t favorites. But the bottom line is, we still do it. And the reasons are many and varied. We do it for the look on the mom-to-be’s face when she opens that handmade gift. We do it for the love of creating. We do it to make “stinking heirlooms.” We do it because we simply must.

I hope that if you’ve stopped by my blog, you will stop by again. I plan to change up the “theme” so it suits me a bit more, but for now, it is what it is.

Til next time!

Lynette L

4 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Aw! My sister has a blog! Very fun. I can’t wait to see how you make it your own. I love ALL of our “stinking heirlooms!”
    Love and Blog on! G

    Like

Leave a Reply

